Skip to content
  • English
  • Magyar
  • English
  • Magyar

Regions of England

I have already mentioned regions like East Anglia or Cornwall a few times, but it might not be obvious which part of England they are. To help to overcome this problem, I prepared a map with MapPoint showing the regions of England. Let’s have a quick look at them because it will be good to remember where they are, as we go on with architecture and can locate buildings easier. It is important to mention that different periods in history, different concepts and views may consider different counties to a region. I prefer below split.

South West – including Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Dorset

West – Gloustershire, Wiltshire (N.B. Cotswolds is at the borders of Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire which has been mentioned already here.)

South – Hampshire and Isle of Wight

South East –West Sussex, East Sussex and Kent

Home Counties – This expression is extremely wide and there are lots of versions. For me Home Counties are: Surrey, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire and Hertfordshire.

East Anglia – Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Peterborough and Bedfordshire

East Midlands – Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire

West Midlands – Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire

Chesire – South of Manchestertől

Merseyside – Liverpool and surroundings

Greater Manchester – Manchester and surroundings

Lancashire – North of Manchester

Yorkshire – stretches from central England to the North, huge area

North East – Darlington, Durham, Northumberland, Sunderland and Teesside

Cumbria – aka Lake District




Hopefully, the above will help you to locate areas as we travel this journey together.


This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 + 20 =

Back To Top